View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 11, 2011, 11:23pm
umpjong umpjong is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: illinois
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
Your interpretation and reasoning is incorrect. It hinges on the word "until". Note also the "exception". The rule is not meant to say, there is an exception to the exception about force plays. Think about it, has ANY MLB umpire crew worked out a mechanic to TIME a 5-4 force in the bases loaded 2 out situation to see if R3 crosses the plate before the force is made at second? Never, never in 50 years of watching baseball has this ever been remotely considered.

OK...4.09(b)...."or any other play with the bases full which forces the runner on third to advance..." Fine, the batter hits a towering fly to the gap warning track deep. Is this "a play"? Yes. Does it force R3 to advance? Yes. Does R3 cross the plate and B/R reach first before the catch is made? Easily done, it was hit that deep. Then, according to rule 4.09(b) the run counts and the game is over. Well, we all know that is wrong because of the way the third out was made. It is the SAME thing if the third out is made by a force (at any base).
There you go, since you added this try getting around it. You cant. There was never a third out because as the rule states - the game is over, period. Be happy and wrong though. We still love ya.
Reply With Quote