Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953
Your interpretation and reasoning is incorrect. It hinges on the word "until". Note also the "exception". The rule is not meant to say, there is an exception to the exception about force plays. Think about it, has ANY MLB umpire crew worked out a mechanic to TIME a 5-4 force in the bases loaded 2 out situation to see if R3 crosses the plate before the force is made at second? Never, never in 50 years of watching baseball has this ever been remotely considered.
|
Your scenario doesnt fit the criteria in the slightest. I will try this one more time and then if you insist, you can just be wrong and be happy.
The rule states that if R3 and BR reach their base in a game ending scenario, the game is over at that time, period, and the progress of R1 and R2 has no bearing on the game that has just ended by R3 and BR reaching their advanced base.
You do see that you are the only one clinging to your philosophy? And your 5-4 mechanic, or whatever you are trying to propose is another fact that goes against your own reasoning because it does not happen. Bottom line is that once R3 scores, and BR reaches 1st base the game is over and the bell aint getting unrung.