View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 11, 2011, 08:17pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953 View Post
Another play covered by 4.09(b) would be catcher's interference. Same mechanics as a walk or HBP.

But, say it was an uncaught third strike. You could retire R1 or R2 if for some reason they did not touch the next base by a force out mechanic.

Or take this situation. Grounder to third toward short. R2 stops so as not to be tagged. F5's throw goes over head of F4 into RF. R2 thinks the winning run scored and exuberantly races to the plate to join the celebration without touching third. He can still be forced out at third to negate the apparent winning run.
If the game is over (as the rule says) when the BR touches 1B and R3 touches home, how can you then force out a runner?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote