View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 04, 2011, 06:46am
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by jr131981 View Post
had this happen in a tourny today, just wondering what others thoughts where on the situation.

runner on 1st, gb to F4. he fields it cleanly, moves the ball to his throwing hand, and runs to 2nd to step on the base then throw to 1st. right as hes stepping on 2nd, he starts to throw the ball, and the ball slips out of his hand.

at what point in time is the runner forced out when the fielder touches 2nd.... as in, even if the fielder drops the ball, for any reason, a millisecond after touching the base, is the runner out?

i ruled the runner out on the force out.
If it happened as described, the "as hes stepping on 2nd, he starts to throw the ball, and the ball slips out of his hand" chronology says possession for the out.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote