View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 02, 2011, 12:00pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
I wouldn't define the contact Amesman describes as "open season." The rule (particularly case 4.23.3 B) only calls for a block here. If the dribbler is targeting the defender, however, that could change things.
The case/rule that you cite is and is about the definition of legal guarding position.

Can a player draw a PC foul without LGP? Yes, in some circumstances (stationary, not jumping, etc.....all things that require LGP in order to be legal at that time of contact)

The reason the case is a block is that the defender who was guarding the dribbler (implying they were actively playing defense....moving) lost LGP when they stepped OOB and they needed LGP in order to not commit a block. The definitions of block and charge make no reference being inbounds or OOB....but sometimes depend on LGP (but not always).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote