View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 24, 2011, 04:19pm
InsideTheStripe InsideTheStripe is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lindenhurst, IL
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike View Post
Maybe Fed rules are different but a single lineman moving is NEVER a "shift". A "shift" requires 2 or more by definition.

The only times I can think of when you might have illegal motion and illegal shift at the same time are:
1 - 2 players are moving before the snap and do not reset for 1 sec and 1 of them also happens to be moving towards the line of scrimmage at the snap or
2 - 2 players are moving before the snap and do not reset for 1 sec and 1 of them also happens to be a lineman who never stopped and established himself as a "back" (NCAA Rules)
As you illustrate, NEVER is a dangerous word. If after leaving the huddle all of the other 10 players are set and "a single lineman" is still moving at the snap, you still have an illegal shift.

I think it's safe to say, "after all 11 players have come set a single player moving is NEVER a shift if all 10 remaining players remain set throughout that single players entire motion".

Last edited by InsideTheStripe; Wed Aug 24, 2011 at 04:22pm.
Reply With Quote