Thread: Feb Quiz
View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 04, 2003, 04:16pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Mike, My response to your questions about #2 and #8

Mike, For what it's worth, here are my thoughts on #2 and #8:

2. 3/10 on the B12. QB A8 drops back, looking for an open receiver . Just as A8 releases a legal forward pass toward A80 in the end zone, B90 steps on Guard A65 (who is on all fours) in an attempt to block the pass. A80 catches the pass for a touchdown. RULING: In Federation rules, there is no specific prohibition against this action. NF 9-4-2e expressly forbids a player from standing on the body or shoulders of a teammate to gain an advantage, but not an opponent. One might argue that NF 9-4-2g could be invoked because the contact is unnecessary, but that’s a pretty slippery slope since the attempt was to block the pass. It wasn’t really unnecessary. I’d be really careful not to employ too liberal an interpretation of 9-4-2g. However, in NCAA rules, 9-1-2q does clearly forbid a player from stepping/standing on an opponent to gain an advantage. NCAA enforcement procedures allow the penalty for this personal foul to be assessed either (a) on the try, or (b) on the succeeding free kick.

8. 2/18 A6. QB A8 pitches the ball back to Back A33 who muffs the ball at the A2. The ball bounces to the A3 where B91 tries to pick it up, but he muffs it and the ball rolls into the goal line pylon. RULING: In Federation the question is clear: What was the force, A’s backward pass or B91’s muff? If the pass, safety—award B 2 pts. If the muff (sounds like it here since the ball was moving away from A’s goal line), TB—A, 1-10 @ A’s 20.
In NCAA, the question is moot. Unless the ball is at rest, a new impetus (force) cannot be added. The initial impetus is still at work. Therefore, A’s backward pass is responsible for the ball hitting the pylon. Result: Safety. Award B 2 pts.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote