View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 04, 2003, 11:26am
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
These rules say it all.

Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
Ok before we start, I didn't see the play, I heard about it. A1 is dribbling up the floor, either A1 or A2 has what appears to be a lower leg cramp or strain. Coach A has 3 subs waiting at the table. Team B is in the middle of making a little run to get back into the game, Team B is the home team Playing at altitude where oxygen is at a premium. Coach A convinces the officials to stop the game for the "injured" player. When the officials stop the game they allow the subs in. Is this the correct procedure?? The reason I ask is the AD for team B was on the radio mentioning that the subs should not have been let in because it was a "live ball" substitution??? Don't know the time on the clock or any other information for sure, so cover all the bases if you could....even if Team B had the ball and Team A the injured player....Thanks

NCAA 3-4-6: Substitution shall not be allowed when the game is stopped in the last 59.9 seconds of the second half or any extra period to correct a timer's mistake or for an inadvertent whistle.

NFHS 3-3-1d: A substitute who desires to enter shall report to the scorers, giving his/her number d. If entry is at any time other than between quarters, and a substitute who is entitled and ready to enter reports to the scorers, the scorer shall use a sounding device or game horn, if, the ball is dead and the clock is stopped.
Case 3.3.1D ....Ruling: ...(a)...B6 may also enter because he/she had legally reported to the table and another player had been directed to leave the game by an official.
Reply With Quote