Thread: Violation?
View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 02, 2003, 07:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Adam Adam is offline
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Re: Re: His Highness has spoken!

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
...even though this play is not specifically addressed in the Rule Book or the Case Book. his interp is a reach, to say the least. But perhaps that's the way it's called in Ohio. A regional thang, ya know!

I got nothin', unless the ball hits something.

Since when is applying the rules correctly a "reach?" I used the rules as written to make an interpretation. I agree that the Casebook does not have a play addressing this play specifically, but just apply the rules that are written about throw-ins.

Not to be "nit-picky, but lets look at what Snagwells wrote earlier:

"This seems to be a nit-picky view of "directly onto the court." What if, for example, we have a spot throw-in on the baseline about 1 foot from the corner? A1, while attempting to throwing around B1, moves in such a way as to throw the ball across the sideline plane. Doesn't seem like a violation to me.
Can't think of a good reason to call anything but a 5 second voilation here, if it gets that far."

In Snagwells throw-in scenario above, A1 has committed a throw-in violation by stepping up the sideline. A1's throw-in spot is on the end line and he released the ball from a position along the sideline. The designated spot for A1's throw-in was on the end line and the throw-in was made from a position on the sideline.

I am sorry to offend those who do not use the rules book when making an interpretation, but I was taught to use the rules book (including casebook plays, illustrated rules books, officials handbook, and the basketball handbook) to make my ruling.
Just a point of clarification, it's SNAQWELLS. I understand it's tough to tell in various fonts, but wanted to set the record straight.
Now, in my scenario, the player need not step anywhere. It's a throw in spot within about 18 inches of the corner. Technically, he's released the ball from a spot outside the corner. His hand is, by your definition, outside the playing court; yet his feet are still within the 3 foot spot for the throw-in.
I'm looking at the rules you're giving, here, Mark. I see what you're saying. I just disagree. That doesn't mean I'm ignoring the rule book. I'm not going to call a violation unless there's a clear rule defining it. If you want me to call it (I know you don't care how I officiate, I'm just making a point), get the rule cleared up. Until then....

Adam
Reply With Quote