Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
...even though this play is not specifically addressed in the Rule Book or the Case Book. his interp is a reach, to say the least. But perhaps that's the way it's called in Ohio. A regional thang, ya know!
I got nothin', unless the ball hits something.
|
Since when is applying the rules correctly a "reach?" I used the rules as written to make an interpretation. I agree that the Casebook does not have a play addressing this play specifically, but just apply the rules that are written about throw-ins.
Not to be "nit-picky, but lets look at what Snagwells wrote earlier:
"This seems to be a nit-picky view of "directly onto the court." What if, for example, we have a spot throw-in on the baseline about 1 foot from the corner? A1, while attempting to throwing around B1, moves in such a way as to throw the ball across the sideline plane. Doesn't seem like a violation to me.
Can't think of a good reason to call anything but a 5 second voilation here, if it gets that far."
In Snagwells throw-in scenario above, A1 has committed a throw-in violation by stepping up the sideline. A1's throw-in spot is on the end line and he released the ball from a position along the sideline. The designated spot for A1's throw-in was on the end line and the throw-in was made from a position on the sideline.
I am sorry to offend those who do not use the rules book when making an interpretation, but I was taught to use the rules book (including casebook plays, illustrated rules books, officials handbook, and the basketball handbook) to make my ruling.