Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
So A1, moving quickly and taking long strides, gathers for a layup at around 25 feet away from the hoop. He gathers with both feet in the air, mid stride, lands on his right foot (at the three point line), takes one more stride with his left (just inside the free throw line) and launches off that left foot for a dunk. B1 got into position as A1 was midstrde between his right and left feet You're calling a block? You're using the wrong rule. The rule you quote (4-41-3) does not state when the defender must get to his spot, its only purpose is to determine whether a shot counts with a defensive foul before the ball is released.
APG's case play and the rule it notes (4-23-5) would be a great place to start.
|
YES I think you might have it know

, although the strides in this particular play are a bit unrealistic

but if someone where able to realize such a distance it would be legal

.
Rule 4- 41 is trying to tell you when the shot has begun.
I have not received the NFHS 2011-12 Case Book.

What is APG?

NFHS Rule 4-23-5 speaks of guarding a moving opponent without the ball.