Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
Anyone catch the play during the Cardinals vs. Astros game last night where the thrown ball hit the on-deck hitter?
The Astros has bases loaded (maybe second and third). Base hit to CF. CFer throws home, obviously late. The ball gets past the catcher. The pitcher was backing up and was on line to get the throw.
The on-deck batter had moved up to direct traffic at the plate. He got between the throw and the pitcher and the throw hit him in the leg and changed direction, allowing the runner from second to score. It seemed that the interference was not intentional.
The umpires huddled and decided on a no-call. Seems that the first run should have scored, a dead ball called, and the other runner sent back to third. I don't think intent is a factor here.
Thoughts????
|
3.15
Interference by an authorized person. While the rule says it doesn't apply to teammates or coaches, the comment says what to do if the coach interferes. Another rule anamoly.
It also refefences 7.08(b) (Interference with a throw must be intentional) and 7.11 (vacate space needed to make a play).
Interfefence wasn't intenmtional.
ODB did not get in the catcher's way.
No call.