Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
That's incorrect. That rule applies to players who run purposely OOB (usually to avoid or evade a defender and usually along the endline) and then receives a pass. Need to look at 9-4-1a:
"a. A violation has not been committed when a player, who steps out of
bounds as permitted by Rule 7-5.6.b, does not receive the pass along
the end line by a teammate and is the first to touch the ball after his
or her return to the playing court."
|
No. I posted the correct rule.
The subsection you posted references the rule (7-5.6.b) that says following a made basket, anyone from the offense may be out of bounds on the endline so they can receive a pass. If they are out of bounds (as allowed by this rule) and do not get a pass, they still may come inbounds and receive a pass without a violation. In all other instances under NCAA rules (men and women), a player may not return inbounds and be the first to touch the ball.