Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
...2) Same game as (1); same inning to be exact. Same team on defense. 1B is unoccupied and B1 has two strikes on her. B1 (RHB) swings and misses for strike three. The pitch bounces off F2's chest onto HP. I did not see any contact between B1 and the ball, but the Defensive HC came out and wanted B1 called out for interference because she stepped on the ball as she started to run toward 1B. I had to explain to him that unless B1 intentionally made contact with the ball it was nothing. He didn't believe me but didn't put up much of a fight....
|
Definitely in the running for my least favorite ASA rule...
ASA 8-2-F-6
The batter-runner is out... when the batter-runner interferes with...(Fast Pitch) a dropped third strike.
Since you didn't see it, it is moot, but your explanation to the coach was incorrect (but that SHOULD be the correct ruling, IMO.)