Catcher Interference
Had a situation presented to me recently and thought I would run it by you all as well.
"R2, R3, 2 outs. As the batter swings at the pitch, he hits the catchers mitt. Ball goes to short right field for a hit. Runners both score and the ball is thrown home trying to retire R2. BR moves up to 2B. The defense appeals the batter missed first base and he is ruled out by umpire. How many runs score where do you put the runners and batter?"
I've got the following:
"Zero runs score. The batter is placed on first base and the runners are returned to their respective bases at the time of the pitch. The batter never reached first safely; Therefore, the catcher's obstruction is enforced. However, the offense may (dumbly) elect to take the result of the play (which would be the end of the inning with zero runs scoring). NFHS rules"
I can't seem to find a good case play or any citations in the JR or BRD. Thanks
-Josh
|