Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1953
(where I am sure R3 would have been called for MC for the collision if the ball was knocked loose).
|
If R3 would have been called for MC if the ball was knocked loose, then he should have been called for MC in your play.
As I envisioned your play, it was likely OBS. It could have been a trainwreck. It *was* HTBT.
On the "act of fielding" issue. In OBR, a fielder can block the base if he's in "the act of fielding" a throw. In LL (I think -- I don't work LL), it used to be that way. I think they've removed that so he now has to have the ball.
That said, that rule generally applies only when a fielder is setting up to block the base. If a throw takes him into the path, then it's (usually) nothing.