View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 21, 2011, 01:37pm
Larry1953 Larry1953 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I deleted my comment because I thought it was unnecessarily harsh. That said, you really have two choices.

1. Plug through the book all by your lonesome and be sure of yourself.

2. Plug through the book and take the learned advice from the umpires here on the forum (or other umpires to whom you have access) on the nuances of various rule and how they are supposed to apply to a real game.
Well, Rich told me that LL does not have an "in act of fielding" clause and I think that interpretation is clearly wrong as I explained above. The only degree that LL does not have an "in the act of fielding" cause in this situation is to prevent (specifically) the catcher from setting up in the baseline in front of the plate and contend he did not obstruct because he was in the act of fielding a throw. I will go to my grave knowing I am correct on that.
Reply With Quote