View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 20, 2011, 04:22pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
NCAA Rule 4 Section 37 b

a held ball occurs when an opponent places his or her hand(s):

b. On the ball to prevent an airborne player from throwing the ball or
attempting a try
and both players return to the playing court with
both hands on the ball or (men) the airborne player returns to the
playing court never losing control of the ball.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The bolded part makes this a judgement call. A mere touch isn't going to do it for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
It doesn't say "AND" or "AND/OR" it just says "OR" and I take that to mean that this can happen and it is a jump ball OR this can happen and it is still a jump ball. they are separate acts of which both, SEPARATELY, are considered jump balls. The two aren't intertwined by saying "AND" or "AND/OR"
You are caught up on the wrong "OR". I agree that either situation around the "OR" you're referring to can independently lead to the violation.

The key part of this that I think you are missing is highlighted above. A mere touch doesn't necessarily "prevent an airborne player from throwing the ball or attempting a try".
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote