Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If this is a solid push, then you have a choice between a team control foul (new this year during a throw-in) and an intentional personal foul. If there is not much contact, one could go with the following NFHS interp.
The NFHS issued an interpretation last season which has no basis in the rules book, in fact the part is red is simply wrong by rule, but here it is:
Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10
Publisher’s Note: The National Federation of State High School Associations is the only source of official high school interpretations. They do not set aside nor modify any rule. They are made and published by the NFHS in response to situations presented.
Robert F. Kanaby, Publisher, NFHS Publications © 2009
SITUATION 1: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in and is being guarded by B1. Before releasing the ball, A1 loses his/her balance, reaches out and puts his/her hand on B1 (who is inbounds) in an effort to regain his/her balance. RULING: Throw-in violation by A1. A1 is required to remain out of bounds until releasing the throw-in pass. When A1 touches an inbounds player, he/she now has inbound status. However, if the contact on B1 is illegal, a personal foul should be called. COMMENT: A throw-in violation must be called in order to maintain the balance between offense and defense. (2-3; 9-2-1; 9-2-5)
|
So, with that ruling, we could call a throw in violation on the thrower when the defender contacts the thrower who has extended their arm across the throwin plane while holding the ball but such contact doesn't warrant a foul???




(as opposed to the newly minted and also unsupportable intentional foul for the fouling the thrower in the same situation.)