Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel
I have both references as well. I paraphrased the ruling from J/R already in addition to stating which page it was on.
Page 96 of the current edition of Jaksa/Roder -
Backswing: A batter's backswing occurs after he has swung through the pitch, and he continues his wing all the way around until the bat reaches the vicinity of the catcher.
It cannot be any clearer. Taking away the bat on an aborted bunt attempt is not a backswing; it does not meet the criteria of trying to hit the ball and then allowing momentum to carry the bat "all the way around". J/R's words, not mine.
|
I find this exchange to be irritating. UmpTTS43 wrote: "Under OBR, when the batter pulls his bat back on an aborted bunt attempt and the bat hits F2 in a legal position, it is considered 'backswing int'."
You then wrote that "J/R states differently."
Now it turns out that you based that on a definition of backswing interference! No, UmpTTS43 didn't say an aborted bunt attempt is the
definition of backswing interference; he said it is
considered to be backswing intereference. Considered means: "is treated in the same way as backswing interference".
In no way does J/R refute UmpTTS43 or in fact even discuss this particular situation.