View Single Post
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 12, 2011, 06:45pm
MikeStrybel MikeStrybel is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
Mike,

So, the question is, what do you call if the batter legitimately pulls his bat back after squaring to bunt - late enough that there is no way that he's going to try to swing and with no intent to contact the catcher - and the bat and the catcher's mitt come into contact?

Let's say a runner is attempting to advance on the play.

No intent by either player and the batter has had and unilaterally declined his opportunity to offer at the pitch.

What's the call and why?

JM
John, I thought I addressed this a few posts ago.

He simply declined to bunt. He is still entitled to a full swing and the catcher prevented that from happening. Further, I have seen guys square, a brush back pitch ensues, tha catcher rises as the batter spins away with his bat striking the catcher's mitt. Each time, the PU sends him to first. The onus is on the catcher, if no intent is displayed by the batter. That call comes from J/R, page and rule noted several times.

If I am the defensive coach, I may not like it but the catcher is required to let him hit the ball until it arrives in foul territory. Even then, the catcher must not impede the batter's opportunity to strike at a pitch. Again, that comes from the ruling in the current J/R. CI is not an immediate dead ball so the runner advances at his own risk.

Last edited by MikeStrybel; Sun Jun 12, 2011 at 06:48pm.
Reply With Quote