Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM)
The only question is what you would rule in the first case - when the batter HAS completely given up his opportunity and the bat and mitt come into contact as the batter pulls his bat back - like in the video.
JM
|
John,
A batter must intentionally contact a catcher or his equipment for it to be batter's interference while he is pulling the bat back J/R page 117 14-2-3
IT IS NOT A BACKSWING. J/R defines the backswing is the follow through motion on a swing that goes all the way around the batter's body until it is on the vicinity of the catcher. This does not happen as he is pulling the bat back from an aborted bunt attempt. Call the pitch. If you judge that he deliberately pulled his bat back in a way that impeded the catcher and caused disruption of the play on the runner, you have interference on the batter.
My son's game was played in the lovely drizzle today. It is really hard to wear a coach's hat some days. When is Summer going to be here? Uggghh.