View Single Post
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 10, 2011, 10:10pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) View Post
DG,

In the play in the video....

1. I am fairly certain the PU never saw that the bat and F2's mitt came into contact.

2. I can not tell for certain whether the ball and the bat ever came into contact.

3. If they did, I am fairly certain that the bat-mitt contact preceded the bat-ball contact.

4. Foul would only be the correct call if the bat-ball contact preceded the bat-mitt contact. (Maybe you saw it differently than I, and I saw it wrong. Like I said, I can't tell for sure from the video.)

5. Who (of the players) "screwed up" here?

6. Who should be held liable?

7. How?

JM
There is much to be gained (or little) from reviewing slo mo replay, numerous times, from an angle the HP umpire does not have. None of us have that luxury. I say FOUL, because that is what was called, ball hit bat before bat hit glove, in the opinion of HP umpire.

This is frivolous discussion. None of us have access to slo mo from another angle, before making a call.
Reply With Quote