Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeStrybel
... It is not catcher's interference if the batter has completely given up his opportunity to swing at a pitch. ...
|
Couldn't agree more. That's what I have been saying. What is it? "Weak interference"? Batter interference? Something else?
Quote:
...So, if he squares and then quickly pulls back but the catcher clips his bat on the takeaway, you have...yes, CI.
|
Again, couldn't agree more, as I said in an earlier post (Post #17, 2nd sentence).
So, it would appear we are largely in "violent agreement". The only question is what you would rule in the first case - when the batter HAS completely given up his opportunity and the bat and mitt come into contact as the batter pulls his bat back - like in the video.
JM