Quote:
Originally Posted by wentdl
Runner on 2nd base 2 outs, batter is called out at 1st but runner on second rounds third and trots across the plate. Offensive coach calls for appeal on runner at first saying firstbaseman had foot off the bag. Base ump confirs with plate ump whom then reverses the call, runner safe at first and ALSO allowed the run from third to score. Now the protest is more centered on the fact the run was allowed to count,HOWEVER, the play started with an appeal on a judgement call.
How far do you peel this onion if it gets peeled at all. Is the run allowed to score because the umpire jeopordized the situation with incorrect call on judgement play??????
|
There is no onion to peel. R2 ran the bases in correct order during live ball and it was up to the defense to do something about it. The call at 1st on the BR was a legit call. What is wrong is that the PU reversed the call when it should have been the BU who changes his own call.
Just because a call goes against you, doesn't mean everything stops. R2's run counts, the fiasco at 1st has the BR on 1st. Your team should have been paying attention to R2 and made a play on him rather than everyone Watching F3's foot.
How's that answer, coach?