Quote:
Originally posted by Del-Blue
Ok,
I'll try this one:
#3-- If the runner is on third, and the ball heads to DBT, as long as the runner is on her way back to second, I think I would allow this, because she has vacated the base past the one she missed and is returning before the ball is dead. When it gets to DBT, I call time, and give her third, hoping she goes back and touches third.
May not be right, but That is what I have I think.
Bob
|
Wouldn't you award her home, since she was beyond 2nd when the ball went to DBT. As long as she had retreated to any point short of 3rd base before the ball went to DBT, she could retouch 2nd. Her position for the award would be goverened by the rule (I don't have a book handy for the cite) that states a runner who has passed a base is considered to have touched it.
Umpire: [pointing to runner one step from 3rd] "You are awarded home." Runner must then return to 2nd, touch 2nd, proceed to 3rd and touch 3rd before going home to be safe from appeal. If runner steps back to 3rd, and then returns to 2nd, or failes to return to 2nd, then she would be out on proper apeal.
Roger Greene