Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews
Ok guys basketball/football official here, so not clear on all baseball stuff.
Little league game 1 out runner on first. Swinging strike 3 at the plate, catcher drops the ball. The batter trys to advance to first, catcher picks up the ball throws to first, at this time the runner being confused leaves to go to second gets in a rundown and is out. Was all done correctly here from an umpiring standpoint? The coaches questions were isn't the ball dead on the third strike? The umpire did call the batter out at the plate.
thanks for any help no axe to grind just want to know the rule.
|
Answer from another basketball guy; can't the runner steal 2nd as soon as the ball gets to the plate? Can't he steal even on a third strike?