View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 02, 2011, 07:39am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Emerling View Post
I did something similarly stupid this year.

I was the PU. With a runner on 3rd, the batter swung and tipped the ball. For some inexplicable reason I call "Foul!" but the catcher actually caught the ball. The runner at 3rd had taken an excessive lead-off and the catcher threw down there nearly picking off the runner.

Nobody said anything and I just shook my head in disgust (at myself).

I was just thankful that the runner was safe because, if he had been tagged out, I'm pretty sure I would have had to disallow it. What do you guys think?
This is FED rules? It's a batted ball, and didn't touch the ground, so the "foul" call means nothing,
Reply With Quote