View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 26, 2011, 08:20am
MD Longhorn MD Longhorn is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umpmazza View Post
Princess..
Princess? What's your problem? I didn't insult you - why do you feel the need to insult me?

Quote:
A.R. 1 - If the fielder is about to receive a thrown ball and the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder so he must occupy his position to receive the throw, he may be considered "in the act of fielding the ball." So it looks like this is what happen in the OP

A.R. 2 - When a fielder has made an attempt to field a batted or thrown ball, has missed and is in pursuit of the ball, he may no longer be considered "in the act" of fielding.
So, "F6 gets up to go after the ball and collides with the runner who is now up and attempting to go to 3rd." doesn't sound a little more like AR2 than AR1 to you? Sure does to me - hence the OBS ruling.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote