View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 22, 2003, 02:58am
Bfair Bfair is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by GarthB
Steve:

Why are you so specific in stating the inning, the outs and the score? That seems to suggest that you think the answer to your question would differ under other circumstances. Personally, I think that is dangerous.

Garth, the scenario was set for no specific purpose other than to present a situation. I don't believe the umpire's decision should vary here be it the top of first inning or the bottom of the last inning.

The goal of the game is for players to score runs.
The rules exist to support the game.
The game does not exist to support the rules.

Calling a balk in this situation is putting the cart before the horse; the rule before the game.

IMO, the written rules related to this situation were established to prevent the pitcher from deceiving his opponent into thinking he was starting his delivery when, in fact, he was not. While the written rule was violated, the spirit and intent of the rule was not. The pitcher had no intent on starting his delivery, he had no intent on deceiving runners, and most importantly, his actions deceived nobody. He gained no advantage---intended or unintended. Nothing within the goals of the game or how it should be played fairly has been violated---only a written rule.

While complete expectations of knowledge and talent might be expected of players at a professional level, I feel it highly overofficious to balk this action at amateur levels. On another board a poster stated that he’d guess 99 of 100 officials at the collegiate level would not call this balk. I agree wholeheartedly. The reason I agree with him is that if those collegiate umpires had not learned somewhere earlier in their career to overlook this type of action, then they wouldn’t be umpiring in that collegiate game. They’d have been considered overofficious by their supervisors and left in the dust long ago by those better understanding the value of the game and the purpose of the rules.

Furthermore, this situation is not just “missed.” It’s not one that’s occurring so rapidly and followed by continued play that it gets overlooked by error. No, when this one isn’t called it’s due to choice----not error. The official has chosen not to nitpick a rule that has not been violated in spirit and intent.

This situation presented is one that I see regularly at HS and adult levels (which include many college players). That is, a situation of F1 being ready to play---holding a live ball---but then disengaging improperly when others do not appear ready to initiate play. I’ve also had many F1’s merely adjust their cap or wipe sweat from their brow while on the rubber, holding a live ball while waiting for others to ready themselves for play. It’s hardly “red herring” situation.
I find it difficult to believe it only happens to me.
It’s also amazing that the many times I’ve not called such action a balk, neither has my partner.

I have never called it a balk in this situation---and more importantly---I never will..
For the many times it has occurred, I have never once been questioned as to why a balk was not called. Any opponent asking for this balk is apt to have his monkey and cup at his side.
While Tee states elsewhere that he doesn’t call balks unless all see it……….well, all have seen this action.
It’s just that not all, in fact very few, have seen this action as a balk…………………..


Just my opinion,

Freix

Reply With Quote