View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 22, 2003, 12:06am
RecRef RecRef is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 521
Several of us were watching the last tournament game of the night when the following happened. There was disagreement as to what should be done.

Situation - Inbounds to start the last quarter. Clock is not started and the R catches the error and stops the play. He has the timer take 6 seconds off of the clock. Here is where the disagreement comes in. The defense had the dribbler driven back close to the end line. By stopping the play the R took away the legal advantage/good play of the defense. Should he have continued his count until either 10 seconds had elapsed or the offense beat the defense and got the ball over half court? The next question is, since he did stop the play to correct the clock should he restart his backcourt count at 7 seconds?

Reply With Quote