As described, I agree with the Coach. When a MLB pitcher takes the mound (and that's who the rules are written for; other leagues jsut use them), "everyone knows" whether the pitcher is in the set or the wind-up position. If F1 was in a set and stepped as described, it would be a balk. IF F1 was in the wind-up and moved as described and then stopped, it would be a balk.
It's an issue at lower levels because not "everyone knows" what position F1 is in. So, NCAA and FED have specific rules on the foot placement that define the position.
|