Quote:
Originally posted by James Neil
My Uncle Ernie just sent me these plays to work. I thought you guys might like to take a crack at them and we could liven up the board some . It's been so slow lately I even miss Derock LOL
1. 1/10 A10. The snap goes off QB A11's hands and the ball rolls to the A7. B21 bats the ball at the A8 and the ball rolls into the end zone where A22 picks up ball in the end zone, runs to the A30, fumbles and B22 recovers.
|
B's ball 1st and 10 at A's 30. The ball rolling into the end zone has no material affect because the play did not end there.
2. 3/10 on the B12. QB A8 drops back, looking for an open receiver . Just as A8 releases a legal forward pass toward A80 in the end zone, B90 steps on Guard A65 (who is on all fours) in an attempt to block the pass. A80 catches the pass for a touchdown.
TD for A. B90 stepping on A65 in an attempt to get the ball or ball carrier is legal.
3. First and goal on the B6. A22 runs for a touchdown. After the score A31 clipped on the B4.
TD. Under the 2003 season rules A is penalized 15-yards on the extra point. Previosuly, that penalty would have been an automatic declination.
4. 2/10 on the A6. QB A10 backward pitch out goes off the hands of back A20 and up into the air. Defensive end B89 bats the ball which goes OB at the A2.
Third and 14 on A's 2. B89 did not have possession, therefore, batting is a legal attempt to gain possession. This was a backward pass and the out-of-bounds spot is where it crossed the sideline.
5.4/1 50. B45 muffs A's punt at the B10, then recovers the rolling ball at the B4 and his momentum carries him into his End Zone. He attempts a backward pass to teammate B29, but the ball lands untouched on the end line.
Safety. B45 applied a new force when he attempt the backward pass. Until the backward pass I would have ruled momentum since the force at the time of the muff was from B's kick.
6. 2/15 B26. A's forward pass is firmly grasped by airborne defender B45. While B45 is still airborne, two separate acts occur in the following order; B45 is shoved by A80, causing B45 to land OB at the B10 (he would have come down inbounds) with the ball in his possession; B77 clips A20 in the vicinity of the ball.
Tough call. According to the order given. First and 10 for A at B's 10 having reach the line-to-gain with the shove. The clip is then a dead ball foul penalized from the succeeding spot, A's 10, half the distance to the goal. First and goal for A.
7. 2/10 B22. B18 intercepts a forward pass that the B2 yard line and his original momentum carries him in the end zone. He tries to run it out, but is trapped. He throws a backward pass towards B28 who is also in the end zone. B28 muffs the ball and A84 catches the ball in the end zone.
TD for A. B18 could have had a momentum exception until the backward pass placed a new force on the ball. Discretion is the batter part of valor. He should have taken a knee, but he didn't.
8. 2/18 A6. QB A8 pitches the ball back to Back A33 who muffs the ball at the A2. The ball bounces to the A3 where B91 tries to pick it up, but he muffs it and the ball rolls into the goal line pylon.
Safety. B91 never gained possession.
9. 4/6 B40. Punter A7 kicks the ball in to the end zone where B16 attempts to catch it. the ball bounces off of B16 and A81 catches it at the B2 yard line and falls down there. B89 was offside at the snap. After the play B93 swears at A81.
(NFHS)My wingmen and I are going to have a talk after the game (I'll do the talking, they do the listening)!
There is no such thing as offside in the NFHS code but there is encroachment. And, encroachment kills the play. Regardless of the action after the snap, the ball was dead. Fourth and 11 from B's 45. But then no unsportsmanlike act can go unpunished. Walkoff 15-yards against B and that makes it a first down for A at B's 30.
It would be a totally different story under NCAA rules.
[/B][/QUOTE]