Thread: Lane Violation?
View Single Post
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 26, 2011, 03:30pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Are we supposed to take a Camron Rust sponsored poll before a rule can be further clarified?

Still waiting for answer to these (NCAA rules):

BC throw-in. A1's entry pass hits A2 in the leg and the ball lands in the BC.

BC throw-in. A1's entry pass hits B2 in the leg and the ball lands in the BC.

When does the 10-second count start for those 2 situations based on the clearly written rule?
Well, we were discussing the HS rule in its current state since the topic was about how you felt the starting of the count in the backcourt had always needed clarification...not how it may need clarification under the new rule change. None of these questions were at all relevant.

In any case, here are the answers to both your questions from the most recent (2011) NCAA casebook...
A.R. 229. The ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in. A1 attempts to throw the inbounds pass to A2, who is located in his/her front court near the division line.
(1) A1’s pass is deflected by B1. A2 leaves the playing court in his/her front court and while airborne, controls the ball, and then lands with one or both feet in the back court.
(2) A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by B1. The ball bounces into Team A’s front court. While the ball is bouncing in Team A’s front court, it is deflected into Team A’s back court, where A3 retrieves it.
(3) A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by A2, who fumbles it into the back court. A2 then goes into the back court and recovers the fumble.

RULING: (1) Violation. When B1 deflected A1’s inbounds pass, his/her legal touching caused the throw-in to end. A1, having established front-court status when he/she left Team A’s front court, gained player and team control in the air. When A1 lands with one or both feet in his/her back court, he/she has committed a back-court violation. The exception to the back-court rules are only applicable for the player who made the initial touch on the ball.
(Rule 4-68.4 and 4-3)
(2) Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor team control had been established in the front court. (Rule 9-12.1)
(3) Legal. This is not a back-court violation since neither player nor team control had been established in the front court.(Rule 9-12.1 and 4-3
It appears that the NCAA considers a team to have team control for the purposes of fouling during thrown in but doesn't consider true "team control" to exist for anything else until the ball is caught/dribbled inbounds (player control).

Two of your questions are directly answered above and one can be deduced.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Apr 26, 2011 at 03:32pm.
Reply With Quote