View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 18, 2003, 08:25pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
[/B]
Only thing I disagree with is the change of possession aspect. I suggest that possession did change the moment the ball dropped through the basket on A2's put back. At that point B was due a throwin due to the made basket; it was B's possession (possession does not equal team/player control).
[/B][/QUOTE]Excellent points,Camron. I thought of the same logic,too.The two things that bother me are:
1)The language of R4-41-3--"the throw in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of a team entitled to it". Does B really have possession before the ball is at their disposal?If they have possession,aren't you supposed to start the count? If they do have possession as soon as the ball goes through,can you call a personal foul on a player during the interval between the ball going through on the putback and the time that it became at the disposal of B(and thus became live again) that isn't intentional or flagrant?
2)The fact that you can still call a PC on A2 even though the ball has gone through,as long as A2 hasn't returned to the floor yet.I just don't know about a PC foul being called on A while B supposedly has possession.

Thoughts?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 18th, 2003 at 07:59 PM]
Reply With Quote