View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 18, 2003, 06:59pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Blackhawk357
The Official Scorer neglects to inform the officials of the double bonus (it's much nicer when you can blame it on someone else). With 9 fouls showing on the board you shoot a 1&1. First throw is missed, quick rebound by A2 and the put-back is good.

PRIOR to B1 gaining possession for the throw-in, the horn blows. The Scorer now informs you that you should have shot 2. ~ Again, the ball has not become alive after the put-back.

Case Book play 2.10.1.b is close, but has the ball becoming alive after the put-back. Where would you go with this one?

Blackhawk
1)It is a correctible error-Rule 2-10-1(a)-failure to award a merited FT.
2)It can be corrected because it's recognized during the first dead ball after the clock has started. Rule 2-10-2.
3)The goal by A2 counts. Rule 2-10-5.
4)No "Change of Possession" involved,because the ball has not become alive after A2's FG,so you line 'em for the merited 2nd. FT. Rule 2-10-6.


[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 18th, 2003 at 03:14 PM]
Only thing I disagree with is the change of possession aspect. I suggest that possession did change the moment the ball dropped through the basket on A2's put back. At that point B was due a throwin due to the made basket; it was B's possession (possession does not equal team/player control).

A1 will go to the line for the merited FT and B will get the ball from the point of interruption...with a throwin by B as if after a made basket.

To put A1 on the line with rebounders in position would be a real double whammy if A misses and gets another putback.
Reply With Quote