View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 21, 2011, 06:01pm
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I remember an ASA case play in which a runner is obstructed between 3B and home, gets trapped in a rundown (or gets trapped in a rundown and then is obstructed), but makes it safely back to 3B when the throw gets away from F5. The runner then tries for home and is thrown out. The ruling was that he was protected between 3B and home even though he had returned and touched 3B. So he is awarded 3B. (Of course, that's not the next base, but . . .)

As I remember, an exception to the blanket protection between bases arises if there's an intervening play.

A few other cases are mentioned in this thread, which dealt mainly with a different issue:

subsequent play on different runner
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Thu Apr 21, 2011 at 06:15pm.
Reply With Quote