Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
That still leaves a gap inbetween those two case plays. A double touch is not likely to have been the cause of R1 leaving early, but not releasing the pitch after starting the wind up certainly can be. In that case, I disagree with ruling R1 out EVEN IF there is no judgment of willful intent... How would you judge that anyway? The IP "caused" the runner to leave before the pitch was thrown (because R1 was timing the pitch, and the pitch was never thrown). Officially, the only two options are to call the runner out or eject the pitcher? Not right.
|
3-6-13c seems to cover any intentional act of the pitcher not releasing the ball:
Unsporting acts shall not be committed, including, but not limited to...behavior in any manner not in accordance with the spirit of fair play.
I agree with Bret that this needs to be addressed by NFHS as to not penalize the runner.