Thread: Help
View Single Post
  #102 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2011, 06:59pm
RandyBrown RandyBrown is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
You're the one who brought BI into the discussion by saying:



The exception noted in the rule book for dunking is for BI, not for a technical foul. IOW, grasping the rim is a T. Period. End of story. The only exception to that is if the player is trying to prevent an injury; and that does not require a dunk to be attempted.
Don't be so pessimistic. The exception you are referencing is in the definition of BI, right? I hadn't even considered it. I was talking about the injury prevention aspect, and how dunkers are commonly allowed to get away with what seems to be a loose enforcement of 10-3-3 in deference to the mere chance that the grasping may be prophylactic. Given the latitude they are allowed, my question came down to who strictly enforces 10-3-3 in situations with the off-hand getting there a bit early, with no advantage gained because of it.
Reply With Quote