Quote:
Originally Posted by MrUmpire
According to at least one of the proschools, the rules makers distinctly and purposefully did not use the word "tie" in the rulebook as they neither anticipated one, nor wished to encourage one. Rather, the intended implication of "6.05j. Runner or base has to be tagged before the runner touches first base for an out" is not that a tie exists, but that the reverse is also true, that when a runner touches first prior to be tagged, he is safe."
Those who have researched the rules and the rules makers notes and intent say that nothing in the book is meant to convey the existence of a tie. That some think that it does is one of over 200 "errors".
You are correct that old myths, especially the one about a tie, die hard.
|
Up until 2010 the rule for the "tie" at first and a "tie" on a force had opposing requirements. In 2010 the "force" requirement was changed to match the play at first.
The tag must be before the touch to get an out. Period.
No one is disputing that in theory there cannot be a tie. BUT, if somehow one did happen, the call is "safe".
No matter how hard you try, you cannot logically conclude that a tie is an out. It's just grasping at straws to avoid admitting you're wrong.
Old myths die hard.