Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
Question 1: Did the scored runner impede/hinder a fielder making a play on the ball.
|
Judgment call.
Quote:
If Yes (as in the case of the OP, F2 was about to field, or as I said, it could be a fielder backing up the play in the case of an errant throw), then...
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
Question 2: Did that fielder have a play on another runner.
|
No. You cannot project something that never occurred. If he intentionally interferes with the throw, by rule, you penalize by calling out the closest runner to the plate.
Quote:
If Yes (as in the case of the OP, B/R was advancing to 2nd), then...
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11
Enforce Interference.
It's all in the rules - you can't ignore it just cause you don't like it or think it shouldn't be that way. The relevant rules were already outlined in this thread, so I won't badger anymore.
|
In my opinion you are applying rules that are not applicable to the sequence of this play.