View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 04, 2011, 07:43am
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I was thinking that just possibly the umps went by the time the throw hit F1, as if he "threw" the ball when it bounced off him. But it's more likely that the runner had advanced well past 2B when the ball entered DBT, and the umps were simply fooled into making the wrong call. I've seen that particular flub several times (but not at the college level).

About 10 years ago, I was PU when R2 was off with the pitch, which got away from F2 toward the bench. R2 rounded 3B and appeared to be going to score when the ball entered DBT. The coach was outraged when I sent the runner back to 3B, and I could hear him explaining to sympathetic "fans" behind the bench how according to "the rule," the runner should have been awarded home. Something about the runner's being "more than halfway when the ball went out."
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote