View Single Post
  #74 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2011, 01:42pm
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyBrown View Post
You are begging the question: You say it is retained, because it is retained. Where is it written that it is retained?

Regarding your non-designated analogy: You are mistaken. 7-5-7b specifies retention only in the case of a common foul. 7-5-3 mandates a “Designated out-of-bounds spot throw-in nearest to where the ball became dead” in the case of a double foul. The non-designated TI is history. It is now designated at the POI.
Don't have NFHS with me so I'll put the NCAA rule out there:

Quote:
Section 53. Point of Interruption
Art. 2. Play shall be resumed after any appropriate penalty is administered by one of the following methods:

a. A throw-in to the team that was in control at a designated spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred.

1. A ball that is not in contact with a player or the playing court retains the same status as when it was last in contact with a player or the playing court. This does not apply to a try in flight.

Exceptions: (Men) A single contact dead ball and a single flagrant technical foul (ball awarded at the division line).

b. (Women) A throw-in to the offended team at a designated spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred for a technical foul for an excessive timeout or a single flagrant technical foul.

c. A free throw or a throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity or when a team is entitled to such with no reset of the shot clock.

d. An alternating-possession throw-in at a designated spot with a reset of the shot clock when the point of interruption is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of half/extra period is involved.

Exception: (Women) Rule 2-11.7.i.
You notice how in "c", the only play specifically referencing a play that was stopped during a throw-in, that the phrase "designated spot" is not included? Do you think there might be a reason for that?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Mar 28, 2011 at 01:45pm.