View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2011, 11:22am
CajunNewBlue CajunNewBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
HTBT....but....

This is either obstruction or interference.

A few years back, when "about to receive" was taken out of the obstruction rule for NFHS, an interpretation was made that there were no more "train wrecks", you either had obstruction or interference.

That interpretation was softened somewhat to eliminate the play where the batter bunts in front of the plate and is leaving the box to run to first, the catcher is coming out to field the ball and the players collide. As long as both players are doing what they are supposed to be doing...this is nothing. And it is specific to this play only!

Here is a link to a short article by Emily Alexander written while she was on the NFHS rules commitee:

Edification & Education ::

Scroll down the page under Rules and Mechanics
I think this has changed... and its now the opposite.... you rule interference.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote