View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 26, 2011, 06:32am
roadking roadking is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 219
NFHS incidental contact?

Very windy day!
Batter runner hits a high flyball just in front of the plate, down the rightside.
F3 playing down the line, intially turns back to cover 1st base then decides to make a play on the ball and turns and steps into the base path of the batter runner, creating solid contact between the two players. Ball was caught in foul territory by F1.
In my judgement, I had no call on the play(wreck), BR could not avoid the contact.
Now my dilemma is, If this ball had dropped in fair territory, I may of leaned more toward obstruction, but F3 possibly could of caught the ball.
I know NFHS wants a call on this kinda of contact.
Any input would be appreciated.
Thanks
Reply With Quote