View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 01:42pm
UmpireErnie UmpireErnie is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 359
Drwill, my point in this thread is whether or not INT by another runner negates BY RULE the obstruction award we were going to give at the end of the play not so much about how much effort a runner needed to show to demonstrate they would have made the next base. If my OP was less than clear I apologize. I meant to paint a picture of R1 rounding 3B at full speed, obviously going home, so obviously that in your mind as PU you would place her at home as a result of the OBS except for this pesky INT at 2B committed by another runner...

I agree that the rulings Steve and Cecil give FEEL right; I am just trying to square them with the written rules. As Cecil’s tag line reads it’s not up to us to invent rulings to fit what we THINK is correct.

If it’s the same runner being obstructed then later committing interference, it’s easy. The rules are clear that INT committed by an obstructed runner basically trumps the OBS call. However it seems to me that in this instance, on one page the book says R1 goes back to 3B while on another page the book says R1 is awarded home.
Reply With Quote