View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 21, 2011, 09:51am
MikeStrybel MikeStrybel is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northwest suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 645
Guys, please let me introduce a problem I can see occuring with the mechanic described in the original play. The DC comes out to appeal what he perceives to be BOO. You deny that appeal based on rule. He then asks for clarification and due to a coach's verbal error, you allow another appeal and grant the out. Yes, the coach misspoke but does anyone see a firestorm brewing? Further, how many times do you correct the coach and allow multiple appeals? Without your clarification, he was wrong - end of story. You just put the other team at a disadvantage by telling the coach what to do.

The sub DID NOT BAT FOR THE WRONG BATTER as #6 Smith is due up NOW. If you put the ball in play and Smith does not take his place in the box then you have a problem. According to the OP, the sub batted in the #5 spot, right? The coach decalring the wrong batter is irrelevant since the sub is already legally in the game as the #5 batter.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote