View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 08:40am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by dileonardoja View Post
Lets say the slide was legal but the ball beats the R1 at 2B. When does the ball become dead? If not until all action ceases then what is the call on the runner into second?

For type B obstruction, the PBUC manual states that if "a play on a previously obstructed runner results in that runner actually being tagged out before reaching the base to which he would have been awarded because of the obstruction, the umpire in that case shall call "Time" at the moment the runner is tagged out."

In this case it is force so there is a tag of R1 only a touch of the base. But does this mechanic still apply as soon as F4 touches 2B for the FO? In that case the INT never happens.
I would apply the same logic in OBR.

In FED, the ball isn't dead until the play is over. So, if BU has the oBS and the call at second, I would likley (trying to imagine it -- I don't think it's ever happened) call "stay there" at second and then turn for the call at first. When the play was over, I'd go back to second and give the "safe" sign with the OBS ruling.
Reply With Quote