Quote:
Originally posted by Brian Watson
I think a scrum or "free -for- all" is a different story altogether. In that case no one really has possession or floor postiion and you just have to referee the contact the best you can.
|
Hmmm, every player is entitled to the position on the floor
she legally obtained. But this is getting off-topic.
I think if we're going to find the "correct" answer for
Mick then we have to determine who is responsible for
the contact. If the player holding the ball does not
"own" the vertical space extending above her leg in this
case then we can't have a foul on the defender who maintains
legal guarding position. NF 4-23-1 says, among other
things: "...A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or
leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have
legal position if contact occurs." But this refers to the
defender. Certainly the defender did not "extend" a leg.
4-24-6 says "...The extenson of the elbows when
the hands are on the hips or when the hands are held near
the chest or when the arms are held more or less
horizontally are examples of the illegal positions used."
While this specifically refers to the use of hands/arms,
it does imply players are entitled to vertical space that
does not extend beyond the hips. I still think travel is
the proper call but I'm willing to be talked out of it.
This would make a great case book play.