Thread: Backcourt
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 10, 2011, 03:58pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
Guys

A-1 is in her frontcourt control and looses the ball into the backcourt. As soon as a member of Team A touches in the backcourt I blow the whistle for a backcourt violation.
My partner alerts me that he is sure the ball was tipped by a member of Team B.
We decide that my whistle is inadvertant and give the ball back to Team A at the point of the touching.
1) Is this correct? NFHS rules
2) Not sure what the point of interruption is?
3) Should we have gone to the arrow because Team A did not have control as I blew the whistle for the violation?
1) Yes
2)the POI is where the ball was in the backcourt when you blew the inadvertant whistle.
3) No arrow because team control was never lost by team A. Team control is the deciding factor, not player control.
Reply With Quote